• (715) 852-3000



All or portions of the following facilities owned or used by the Eau Claire Area School District were constructed using asbestos-containing building materials (ACBM):

Administration Building
Career Development Center
Sam Davey Elementary School
Delong Middle School
Chippewa Valley Montessori Charter School
Locust Lane Elementary School
Longfellow Elementary School
Manz Elementary School
Memorial High School
McKinley Charter School
North High School
Putnam Heights Elementary School
Robbins Elementary School
Roosevelt Elementary School
Service Center
Sherman Elementary School
South Middle School

The ACBM contained in these facilities is monitored and maintained in accordance with the federal AHERA (Asbestos Hazard Emergency Response Act) rules and regulations. A periodic surveillance of all known ACBM is conducted at each facility every six months and a detailed re-inspection is conducted each three years. In addition, maintenance and abatement of ACBM is conducted on a continuing basis throughout the District.

ACBM that is in a friable (loose, readily crumbled) state, when disturbed, can become airborne. The inhalation of asbestos fibers can cause serious health problems.

The periodic surveillance and re-inspection identifies ACBM that are in a friable condition and recommends the removal, encapsulation, or repair of these materials. Most ACBM in District-owned facilities in occupied spaces has been removed. Any remaining ACBM is either in a non-friable state or is encapsulated.

An "Asbestos Management Plan" is available for review at each individual school, the Administration Building, and the Service Center. This Asbestos Management Plan documents the existence, extent, maintenance, and abatement of ACBM in each of the above facilities. All concerned persons are welcome to view this document on request.