• (715) 852-3000

About our District

Mr. Michael Johnson serves as the Superintendent of the Eau Claire Area School District. You can contact Mr. Johnson by calling 715-852-3002.

Our mission is to inspire and prepare our students to live creative, fulfilling and responsible lives.

Our vision is to challenge minds, build relationships and nurture individual growth to prepare all students for post-secondary success.

Our slogan:  Where knowledge and inspiration meet to create the future.

The Eau Claire Area School District has been a continuous district since July 1889. During consolidation in the early 1960s, rural schools were added to the city schools. We were then called a city school district. In 1982 the Board of Education voted to become a unified school district. 

The Eau Claire Area School District, with an enrollment of approximately 11,150 students, is the eighth largest school district in Wisconsin. It covers approximately 200 square miles, which includes most of the city of Eau Claire and portions of the townships of Brunswick, Clear Creek, Drammen, Hallie, Pleasant Valley, Rock Creek, Seymour, Union, Washington, and Wheaton. There are 12 elementary schools in the district, 1 early learning center, 3 middle schools, 2 high schools, and 3 charter schools.

A seven member Board of Education elected at large for three-year terms governs the district. The Board normally meets on the first and third Monday's of each month at the Administration Building, 500 Main Street, at 7 pm in the Board Room. For more information on the School Board, follow this link.