Eau Claire School Board Minutes Monday, August 16, 2021, 7:00 p.m. ECASD Administration Building and Webex Virtual Meeting

Generated by Meta Miske

#### Members present

Lori Bica, Joshua Clements, Aaron Harder, Marquell Johnson, Phil Lyons, Tim Nordin, Erica Zerr

# **CONVENE (GC-1)**

Due to technical difficulties with the Webex virtual platform, the meeting was delayed.

President Nordin called the meeting to order at 7:45 p.m. Board Secretary Meta Miske confirmed the meeting had been properly noticed in compliance with the Open Meeting Law. A roll call was conducted to verify quorum. The Pledge of Allegiance was offered.

# **ADOPTION OF AGENDA (GC-2)**

Motion by Joshua Clements, second by Lori Bica, to adopt the Board Agenda for August 16, 2021.

#### Motion carried

Yes: Lori Bica, Joshua Clements, Aaron Harder, Marquell Johnson, Phil Lyons, Tim Nordin, Erica Zerr

# **RECOGNITION (R-1)**

Superintendent Johnson recognized Dennis Luginbill for directing the first in-person band concert at DeLong in over a year, and Seth Kreibich, EDUStaff's 2021 Wisconsin Substitute Teacher of the Year.

### **PUBLIC FORUM (GC-2.3c)**

The following members of the public addressed the Board: Lynn Dehnke, Mary Kante, April Duval, Larry Jankowski, Maggie Vinopal, Darci Tiegs, Mike Perz, Tricia Lenz, Lori Placke-Wirth, Cynthia Burton, Tina Schwagel, Katie Wilson, Chris Hambuch-Boyle, Kayla Rick, Justin Hendrickson, Megan Lanphere, Joshua Andrew, and Mark Goings.

Motion by Tim Nordin, second by Marquell Johnson, to take a ten-minute recess.

### Motion carried

Yes: Lori Bica, Joshua Clements, Aaron Harder, Marquell Johnson, Phil Lyons, Tim Nordin, Erica Zerr

The meeting reconvened at 9:17 p.m.

#### REPORTS

### **Budget Development Committee Report (GC-5)**

Budget Development Committee met last week and discussed the referendum timeline.

# **Legislative Liaison**

Commissioner Johnson provided a legislative update.

# **SUPERINTENDENT'S CONSENT AGENDA (GC-2.5)**

Motion by Joshua Clements, second by Erica Zerr, to approve the following Superintendent's Consent Agenda Items:

- Human Resources Employment Report
- Payment of all bills in the amount of \$9,677,094.02 and net payroll in the amount of \$4,452,832.05 for the period of June 1, 2021 through June 30, 2021.

#### Motion carried

Yes: Lori Bica, Joshua Clements, Aaron Harder, Marquell Johnson, Phil Lyons, Tim Nordin, Erica Zerr

### **BOARD'S CONSENT AGENDA (GC-2.5)**

Motion by Joshua Clements, second by Aaron Harder, to approve the following Board's Consent Agenda items:

Minutes of Board Meeting - August 2, 2021

#### Motion carried

Yes: Lori Bica, Joshua Clements, Aaron Harder, Marquell Johnson, Phil Lyons, Tim Nordin, Erica Zerr

#### **FOCUS ON RESULTS**

High School Results - Strategically Using Data in an Equitable Multi-Level System of Support Jim Schmitt, Michelle Radtke, Kurt Madsen, and Dave Oldenberg provided a report on high school results including a look at quarter and semester grades over the last three grading years (excluding the 2019-2020 school year).

Questions and discussion ensued.

#### MATTERS RESERVED FOR BOARD ACTION

# **Adopt Referendum Timeline**

Abby Johnson summarized changes to the previously adopted referendum timeline which were discussed by Budget Development Committee last week.

Motion by Joshua Clements, second by Phil Lyons, to adopt the referendum timeline as proposed.

#### Motion carried

Yes: Lori Bica, Joshua Clements, Aaron Harder, Marquell Johnson, Phil Lyons, Tim Nordin, Erica Zerr

#### MONITORING DISTRICT RESULTS

# First Draft OE-2 Equity Commitment

Superintendent Johnson provided an overview of his interpretation of OE-2 and shared additional items he plans to add before the presentation of the monitoring report on September 20.

Questions and discussion ensued.

### **BOARD DEBRIEF (GC-2.3)**

Commissioner Johnson led the Board on a debrief activity.

#### **ADJOURN**

Motion by Erica Zerr, second by Aaron Harder, to adjourn the meeting.

### Motion carried

Yes: Lori Bica, Joshua Clements, Aaron Harder, Marquell Johnson, Phil Lyons, Tim Nordin, Erica Zerr

Meeting adjourned at 11:12 p.m.