Eau Claire School Board Minutes Monday, July 20, 2020

Generated by Meta Miske

Members present

Lori Bica, Joshua Clements, Aaron Harder, Phil Lyons, Tim Nordin, Marquell Johnson, Erica Zerr

OPEN SESSION

President Tim Nordin called the virtual meeting to order at 7:00pm. Board Secretary Meta Miske confirmed the meeting had been properly noticed and was in compliance with the Open Meeting Law. A roll call was conducted to verify quorum and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by President Nordin.

PUBLIC FORUM

Motion by Erica Zerr, second by Marquell Johnson to suspend rules and move public comment after the Work Session. Passed by unanimous vote.

Motion carried

Yes: Lori Bica, Joshua Clements, Aaron Harder, Phil Lyons, Tim Nordin, Marquell Johnson, Erica Zerr

BOARD/ADMINISTRATIVE REPORTS

Superintendent Johnson thanked the Reopening of Schools Task Force and leadership team. He encouraged ongoing flexibility among all stakeholders.

Board President's Report

President Nordin spoke about a book study three members of the Board participated in and the Reopening of Schools plan.

OTHER REPORTS

School Board Committee Reports

Budget Development Committee had no update.

Demographic Trends & Facilities Planning Committee had no update.

LEAP Committee had no update.

Policy & Governance Committee met July 8, continues to work on equity and anti-racism, and will begin working on Coherent Governance steps.

Legislative Update

Commissioner Johnson gave an update about reopening of schools across the state as well as federal and state response to COVID-19.

CONSENT RESOLUTION AGENDA

Motion by Joshua Clements, second by Aaron Harder to approve the following Consent Resolution Agenda items:

- Minutes of July 6, 2020
- Gifts in the amount of \$11,873.99 for the period of June 1, 2020 through June 30, 2020
- Payment of all bills in the amount of \$8,831,734.29 and net payroll in the amount of \$3,863,949.52 for the period of June 1, 2020 through June 20, 2020
- Human Resources Employment Report
- Insurance renewal
- Annual Approval of Curriculum Standards
- Bids for Installation and Maintenance for MHS Solar Project
- Appoint School Board Committee Assignments

Motion carried

Yes: Lori Bica, Joshua Clements, Aaron Harder, Phil Lyons, Tim Nordin, Marquell Johnson, Erica Zerr

WORK SESSION

Coherent Governance Discussion with members of Chippewa Falls Area Unified School District School Board

Kathy Strecker, Chippewa Falls Area Unified School District School Board Clerk, and Sharon McIlquam, Chippewa Falls Area Unified School District School Board Vice President, presented on the Coherent Governance Model. They shared information about the model, as well as their experiences with the model.

A question and answer session occurred.

PUBLIC FORUM

The following members of the public addressed the Board: Dan Wilson, Brian Wiltgen, Amy Carlson Sather, Sarah French, WJ Vincent, Margo Griffin, Carrie Poser, William Kampf, Sandra Sorensen, Amy Hahn, Beth Smith, Andy Lund, and Mark Goings.

INDIVIDUALLY CONSIDERED RESOLUTION(S) Reopening of Schools Task Force

Superintendent Johnson, Kim Koller, Abby Johnson, Kay Marks, Jim Schmitt, Mandy Van Vleet and Lieske Giese from the Eau Claire City-County Health Department presented a report and the proposed plan for reopening of schools.

Questions and discussion ensued related to the plan.

Motion by Phil Lyons, second by Aaron Harder to approve the proposed Reopening of Schools Plan as presented to the Board.

Discussion ensued.

Motion by Joshua Clements, second by Aaron Harder to amend the motion on the table to require masking.

Discussion ensued. Commissioner Clements withdrew his motion to amend the motion on the table and requested masking as a future item on the agenda. Commissioner Harder agreed.

The original motion was restated.

Motion carried

Yes: Lori Bica, Joshua Clements, Aaron Harder, Phil Lyons, Tim Nordin, Erica

Zerr

No: Marquell Johnson

REQUEST FOR FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS Requests for Future Agenda Items

Discussion on masking. Status update on the instructional model with all avenues that had been presented and progress that has been made.

ADJOURN

Motion by Joshua Clements, second by Marquell Johnson, to adjourn meeting.

Motion carried

Yes: Lori Bica, Joshua Clements, Aaron Harder, Phil Lyons, Tim Nordin, Marquell Johnson, Erica Zerr

Meeting adjourned at 12:02am.